Overview of the Repetitive, Scheduled Non-emergent Ambulance Prior Authorization Model - Revised

MLN Matters® Number: SE1514 Revised
Article Release Date: November 20, 2020

Note: CMS revised the article to show that the model will not end on December 1, 2020. The model no longer has an end date and will remain in effect for the nine model states. All other information is unchanged.

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) began a 3-year prior authorization model for repetitive, scheduled non-emergent ambulance transports in the states of New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina on December 1, 2014, for transports on or after December 15, 2014, regardless of the origin or destination of the transport. Six additional areas were included in the model - Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, North Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia - on December 15, 2015, for transports on or after January 1, 2016.

View the complete CMS Medicare Learning Network (MLN) Matters (SE)1514.

            Last Updated Tue, 24 Nov 2020 18:04:38 +0000