Critical Access Hospital (CAH)

A Critical Access Hospital (CAH) is a hospital certified under a set of Medicare Conditions of Participation (CoP), which are structured differently than the acute care hospital CoP. Some of the requirements for CAH certification include having no more than 25 inpatient beds; maintaining an annual average length of stay of no more than 96 hours for acute inpatient care; offering 24-hour, 7-day-a-week emergency care; and being located in a rural area, at least 35 miles drive away from any other hospital or CAH (fewer in some circumstances). The limited size and short stay length allowed to CAHs encourage a focus on providing care for common conditions and outpatient care, while referring other conditions to larger hospitals. Certification allows CAHs to receive cost-based reimbursement from Medicare, instead of standard fixed reimbursement rates.

Access the below CAH related information from this page.



Last Updated Dec 13 , 2022

Related Articles

paginationType noridian
Articles Source Posted
Critical Access Hospitals: Bill Correctly 03/28/2023
Critical Access Hospitals (CAH) Ambulance-On-Demand Tutorials Available 07/26/2023
Critical Access Hospital (CAH) Modifiers -On-Demand Tutorials Available 03/29/2023
Critical Access Hospital Method II - On-Demand Tutorials Available 02/10/2023