Anesthesia Conversion Factors

The anesthesia conversion factors for each calendar year are listed by payment locality and are effective for the date the service was provided. The participating physician anesthesia conversion factor is listed first, the non-participating physician anesthesia conversion factor is second, and the limiting charge is listed in the third column.

The non-participating physician conversion factor is computed at 95 percent of the participating physician conversion factor. The limitation in the statute requires that Qualified Nonphysician Anesthetist services not exceed the conversion factor for physicians' anesthesia services.

X
 

2019

Effective January 1, 2019 for dates of service January 1, 2019 - December 31, 2019.

Locality Par Non-Par Limiting Charge
Alaska $30.99 $29.44 $33.86
Arizona $21.95 $20.85 $23.98
Idaho $21.27 $20.21 $23.24
Montana $23.13 $21.97 $25.27
North Dakota $21.65 $20.57 $23.65
Oregon - Area 01 - Portland $22.34 $21.22 $24.41
Oregon - Area 99 - Rest of Oregon $21.86 $20.77 $23.88
South Dakota $21.44 $20.37 $23.42
Utah $22.24 $21.13 $24.30
Washington - Area 02 - Seattle (King County) $23.16 $22.00 $25.30
Washington - Area 99 - Rest of Washington $22.18 $21.07 $24.23
Wyoming $22.11 $21.00 $24.16

 

2018

Due to the Bipartisan Budget Act of 2018, CMS sent updated anesthesia fee schedules effective for dates of service January 1, 2018 – December 31, 2018.

Locality Par Non-Par Limiting Charge
Alaska $30.89 $29.35 $33.75
Arizona $21.86 $20.77 $23.88
Idaho $21.19 $20.13 $23.15
Montana $23.04 $21.89 $25.17
North Dakota $21.57 $20.49 $23.57
Oregon - Area 01 - Portland $22.26 $21.15 $24.32
Oregon - Area 99 - Rest of Oregon $21.78 $20.83 $23.95
South Dakota $21.36 $20.92 $23.34
Utah $22.16 $21.05 $24.21
Washington - Area 02 - Seattle (King County) $23.07 $21.92 $25.20
Washington - Area 99 - Rest of Washington $22.09 $20.99 $24.13
Wyoming $22.03 $20.93 $24.07

 

2017

Effective January 1, 2017 for dates of service January 1, 2017 - December 31, 2017.

Locality Par Non-Par Limiting Charge
Alaska $30.69 $29.16 $33.53
Arizona $21.80 $20.71 $23.82
Idaho $21.04 $19.99 $22.99
Montana $22.63 $21.50 $24.72
North Dakota $21.43 $20.36 $23.41
Oregon - 01 - Portland $22.01 $20.91 $24.05
Oregon - 99 - Rest of Oregon $21.59 $20.51 $23.59
South Dakota $21.22 $20.16 $23.18
Utah $22.02 $20.92 $24.06
Washington - 02 - Seattle/King County $22.61 $21.48 $24.70
Washington - 99 - Rest of Washington $21.66 $20.58 $23.66
Wyoming $22.11 $21.00 $24.16

 

Resource

 

Last Updated Nov 21, 2018